DC converter whistle

Hello, I’m trying out a mini battery module and what surprised me is a high-frequency shriek that’s louder than most my phone adapters. I was wondering if I could modify the device to increase the converter’s frequency into 100+ khz range. I’m a complete amateur in electronics, but I have a soldering iron and I would probably be able to change an SMD cap or two. Any thoughts?

Hello Jiří,
the switching chip is working near the MHz frequencies and this noise is some kind of sub-harmnonic frequency which is created by the inductor, or the the capacitor.
Which firmware on your module do you use? Is the module sleeping or is the MCU running all the time? Is the sound constant or it is audible only few seconds when for example you press the module button?

Do you use new or older batteries? Lower battery voltage means biggger current spikes which can lead also to this noise.

I try to take a look if the noise is created by inductor or capacitor.

I used bigclownlabs/bcf-generic-node-battery-mini:v1.7.1, there is also a lux meter tag connected, but nothing else.
Oddly enough, the noise is gone now. The led is blinking (it didn’t yesterday), and half hour ago it suddenly stopped sending data (it works again after manual reset). I used the batteries that came in the package with the battery module just few days ago (Varta industrial somethings), but I didn’t have the presence of mind to check their voltage when I got them. They are at 0.5V now (measured when powering the running module, out of circuit they are about 0.9V).

When I powered the module back on, it started blinking in a pattern (three short, one long), not sure if it was blinking like that before and I just didn’t notice. Also, while it’s not whistling constantly any more (as it did yesterday), it’s clicking in sync with the led flashes.

Ah, also stopped sending data altogether.

Hello Jiří,