Use playground to display data from remote dongle?

Hi. I’m a complete newbie to all of this BigClown world, MQTT and so on. So maybe the question is gonna be ill-posed, but… I expected this to be pretty easy and well documented, however, I wasn’t able to finish the task using the available documentation.

Prerequisite: Connecting the radio dongle to my Windows computer worked, (the new, beta) playground behaved well, displayed temperatures and so on. I also installed the dongle to my router and that also works fine.

Target: Connect the radio dongle to my Turris Omnia (OpenWRT-based router) and have the same view on the data from playground on my notebook as when the dongle was locally connected.

Problem 1: The only way to set up a remote connection I found is in Functions->mqtt->Edit node->Server. I changed localhost to the router’s IP, but no data are passing through. mosquitto_sub executed on the router normally returns messages from the climate module. So the data are there, they’re just not getting to my playground.

Problem 2: I assume that bcg is just some kind of relay without memory, so how do I make the playground display also historical data (e.g. in the chart component)? Do I need to install something more to the router?

Thank you for guiding me :slight_smile:

Hi Martin,

1) MQTT over network

If you have running bcg and mosquitto MQTT broker with working temperature messages on your router, then there should not be problem to connect to that broker from any other computer on your network. I set to the Playground Node-RED hostname of my Raspberry Pi and I can get the all MQTT messages.

Is the port 1883 opened in your Turris firewall? Can you connect to the MQTT broker on your Turris from other computer with MQTT client? Try mosquitto_sub or GUI application like https://www.eclipse.org/paho/components/mqtt-spy/ from other computer on your network.

It is also possible to run node-red directly on the Turris Turris omnia and node-red on LXC