Why SPSGRF-868?

Hi,
I quickly looked at core module schematic and price of minimum necessary componets. Radio module SPSGRF-868 costs (approx) as much as all other components together. So, it doubles total module price…

I’m wondering, why you decided to choose this radio module? Because of integrated features? Or you have already some experiences with this one? Or is the cheapest on the market? (I’m new to embedding wireless communication)

Background: I’m thinking about possibility to create custom version of core module hardware, compatible with your sw but with fixed features, minimum componets, single-purpose and as cheap as possible.

Hello Kapitan,
I try to answer your question now, but I hope that our HW development leader @hubpav also adds something.

The main feature of our modules is the RF communication. We need robustness, reliability and low power so we cannot save on the price here.
In the early days of BigClown the hardware team had a lot of meetings with different manufacturers and also they had a lot of experience from previous company where they used radio communication. All this knowledge and lot of decisions went to the final selection for SPIRIT1. It has lot of features for reliable communication (e.g. antenna diversity algorithm). It’s also great for low power applications.
It’s definitely not the cheapest solution :slight_smile:

I’m glad that BigClown used this radio. One year ago when I wasn’t part of the BC I was experimenting with a lot of solutions. RAW 2,4GHz packets (NRF24L01+) or WiFi with ESP8266 which was not reliable.
When I get Core Module I did some tests and one receiver really covered all my house and even the bigger garden. I tried to go to the furthest corner of the garden, block the signal with my body and even when I hold my fingers on the antenna - the packet was sent without an issue. That amazed me.